It’s official: Carlyn Obringer has been re-elected as the councilwoman for Concord’s District 2, and Edi Birsan was re-elected as the councilman for District 4, city officials announced Wednesday.

The results became official when the City Council voted Tuesday to certify the outcome of the Nov. 5 general election.

This was the first election in which both Obringer and Birsan were elected by district. The other three councilmembers were elected by district in the 2018 general election.

Breaking tradition, the council approved a motion by Vice Mayor Dominic Aliano to retain Mayor Tim McGallian and Vice-Mayor Aliano in their current positions.

Usually, the council rotates the vice-mayor into the mayor’s role and selects a new vice-mayor during the annual transition meeting. For consistency’s sake, the council chose not to rotate the positions this time.

“These have been unprecedented times and we have unpredictable times ahead of us. The City of Concord has done a good job of responding to COVID,” Aliano said.

“We know that COVID will be with us in 2021, and we will definitely still be in the shelter-in-place going into next year. I think it is important for Concord to maintain its consistency and its leadership.”

The council also certified the results of Measure V, a ballot measure that extends and increases the city’s existing local use and transaction tax from a half-cent to a full cent effective April 1, 2021.