San Francisco Supervisor Vallie Brown. (Photo courtesy of Vallie Brown/Facebook)

The city of San Francisco will no longer do business with at least 22 U.S. states over their anti-abortion policies, Mayor London Breed recently announced.

The ordinance, first introduced by Supervisor Vallie Brown back in July, bars city employees from traveling on city-funded trips to those states and prohibits the city from contracting with companies whose headquarters are located in those states.

Of the 22 states, nine were already in a city-banned list due to their anti-LGBT laws.

“Every day in the country, women’s reproductive rights are threatened, and we have to fight back. Just as we restricted spending with states that have laws that discriminate against LGBTQ people, we are standing up against states that put women’s health at risk and that are actively working to limit reproductive freedoms,” Breed said. “By limiting travel and contracting with certain states, we are sending a clear message to states that disregard the right to abortion.”

The states on the banned list are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

The travel and contract restrictions for those states go into effect on Jan. 1, 2020.

“At a time when reproductive rights are being attacked from Washington and state houses across the country, it is imperative that San Francisco step up and fight back,” Brown said.

“By restricting travel to states with restrictive abortion laws and that limit access to reproductive health, we are showing our commitment to women, trans men, and non-binary people in San Francisco and across the country,” she said.

Breed’s office said the city hopes the ban will influence other cities and states to follow suit, putting pressure on the banned states to change their policies.

“San Francisco is showing other cities and states how to stand up against dangerous laws that restrict a woman’s right to control her own body,” said Gilda Gonzales, CEO of Planned Parenthood Northern California. “Now, more than ever, we must work to expand, not ban, reproductive rights for all.”

The states of Alabama, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota and Texas were already on the city administrator’s banned list because of their laws and policies that discriminate against LGBTQ people, according to the mayor’s office.